So why write?

Confession times, I suppose …

I write to earn a living.  Yes I can hear you laugh.  Okay, on a deeper level I write to leave a small mark on the face of the literary world, so that there will be something there to show that I once existed.  And I think I’m a little bit good at it.

I certainly wouldn’t say that I HAVE to write, like some people who just can’t help it.  For me, writing is somewhere akin to pulling teeth.  This means that I have to fight for every word.

I tried Nanowrimo last year, and managed 17k words, but my PC died on the second day, so I carried on BY HAND.  It was good stuff, full of mistakes, yet worthy of rewriting.  But it isn’t finished.  And the two A4 books full of my scribblings have lain on the bookshelf ever since … waiting for that kick.

So, my motivations so far are a) Money (Buddha would laugh!), b)Legacy and c)Art.  These are in the wrong order, for sure, But I’ll try anyway.  Unattibutable quote time:  In writing, you either get published, get rejected, or die.  Love that one.

It means that if I keep trying, I will get one of the three!

One in three is good enough chance for me.

About gethinmorgan

Writer, baker, beard bon viveur. And single-dad of three precocious little Jedi. Single father, Catan Addict, and writer.
This entry was posted in Motivations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So why write?

  1. Ellie says:

    Oh I love a writer that admits to that burning of dream of actually making money from writing! I honestly believe there is one huge bunch of writer liars out there – I know for certain I wouldnt be practically killing myself with the workload I have if I didn’t aim to make a decnt living in the long run!

Leave a Reply

