Scrivener and other procrastinations

I am a procrastinator.  Yes, I know I shouldn’t, and I will probably go blind, but I will blithely put off what I could do today for … next month sometime.

And given that a question was asked at the end of the last post … I’m sure I will get to eventually.

So the blog, the twitter account, FB, google+, Writer’s of the future, my addiction to unique printed hoodies, IO9, et al ALL KEEP ME FROM WRITING!

This is very annoying, but it is entirely my fault.  With my Buddhist head on, it is part of my monkey mind, the  chattering, distracted bit that stops me from being the best writer (or anything) I could be.

And yet, like dogs on a leash, I also find that fighting this natural urge to be distracted makes its own problems. So sometimes I let the dogs run a bit, so they behave when I want them to.

See, I have a novel to write, in draft at the very least.  Because I need the first ten thousand words – rewritten to a high polish – for May.  Buuuut, I have to finish the damn thing once, before I even start a rewrite!

This headcrash worth of work fills me with dread, but I will start it soon.

So yesterday, I downloaded Scrivener, and … Wow! 🙂 (I unpacked a story I got stuck on from yWriter, and managed to arrange it all neatly, and then I found that I written 1500, out of nowhere.

Still haven’t finished the novel … but I will get to that soon!

About gethinmorgan

Writer, baker, beard bon viveur. And single-dad of three precocious little Jedi. Single father, Catan Addict, and writer.
This entry was posted in Confessions and other lies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Scrivener and other procrastinations

  1. Ellie says:

    Oh you are attempting that 10,000 words as i did, i will be interested to see what happens. I completely ran out of time and just had to polish to perfection without the ending….and I am not a procrastinator!

  2. grumphy says:

    My problem with this work is that I am fighting my natural writerly urges. Our most esteemed Doctor of Writing has no love for fantasy fiction, which is what I like to write, and prefers works of a literary bent. So its boring. About the confict between the sexes … bla-di-bla-bla-bla

    • Ellie says:

      Do you think he prefers the work of a literary bent honestly? I was never sure, but maybe that is because I was frequently told it was what was required and set down by the externals…but yeah, fantasy fiction has no place in his heart for sure so I do understand your predicament, even if I never endured it myself.

  3. grumphy says:

    As great as he is, he still wants to be D H Lawrence. :/

Leave a Reply

