What does it take for a writing career?

It has been a while since my last post – and now I don’t remember why I stopped. Since finishing my coursework, and ordering even more cover artwork, a lot has happened out there. All the DOJ malarkey, the NY Times figures on just how important eBook sales are to the industry, and Fifty Shades of Grey.

Honestly, you couldn’t make it up. But all discussion is healthy, even as the insults fly. The indie online scene, still in its infancy, is brimming with health, vim, vigour and zip.

In my own little corner of the world, a far more urbane menace has been seen. It sits in the corner of the room, near the tv, black sides gleaming with procrastinating malevolence.

Yes, I bought an Xbox. Creative output has fallen into a mire of button bashing hell.

Two things have goaded me to make an entry here:

  1. Katherine Rusch’s post on professionalism in writing, and why its not taught in university.
  2. The excellent 200th show on Radio Litopia, which featured Ben Fountain talking about his work (my emphasis).

And that’s been my problem. I might as well as put on a shirt with big flouncy cuffs and written with a quill, for all the attention I gave my business. Rusch’s husband, Dean Wesley  Smith, has challenged him self to write (and self publish) 100 stories in one year. And apart from doing it to show just how easy it is to publish, I’d say he’s doing it for fun.

Writing is work. A job. A do-it-everyday thing, or you may as well quit. I want a career in it. but I am playing Elder Scrolls III. A lot.

Something’s gotta give.

I don’t have a plan. A couple of ideas, which I’ll stick in my next post. And there’s a save on a hard drive nearby that needs deleting. Lets see if I can do that first.

About gethinmorgan

Writer, baker, beard bon viveur. And single-dad of three precocious little Jedi. Single father, Catan Addict, and writer.
This entry was posted in Confessions and other lies, Jealousy/inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

